• Ships
  • Airport
  • Hotels
  • Course 10
  • Course 14

Diego Borrego wins the tenth edition of the largest golf event held in Santo da Serra.

The Spaniard Diego Borrego reached the well-deserved title at Santo da Serra, finishing a blow ahead of his compatriot Ivo Giner and the Dutchman Maarten Lafeber, on a day made difficult by the wind.

After having started the last round with three strokes of Ivo Giner and Maarten Lafeber, Borrego showed a great consistency of game and ended up closing his participation in the Madeira Island Open 2002 with 69 strokes (-3), for a total aggregate of 281 Blows (-7), with turns of 72, 68, 72 and 69.

“The Santo da Serra Golf Club is quite simply one of the prettiest golf courses in the world. I have played in every corner of the world, from the Americas to the Far East, but I have never enjoyed my rounds as much as I did on this 27-hole golf course, which is home to the Madeira Open."

Azzy Asghar, 2011. www.epicureanlife.co.uk

  • AFA
  • BPI
  • Canon logo
  • Cimentos Madeira
  • Construtora Tamega
  • ENM
  • FNAc
  • JCRP
  • Logo-Expresso-BPI
  • Pestana hotels-pek
  • Porto-Bay
  • Porto Santo Line pek
  • Taylormade LOGO
  • jacobsen logo
  • nos-madeira
  • pantano
  • the vine logo
  • titleist Golf Landing Page Banner


To see our current Promotions