• Untitled 17edit
  • Untitled 21editado
  • Untitled 7 Edit

Irishman Des Smyth won the IX Madeira Island Open trophy at Santo da Serra

Des Smyth, with a total of 270 strokes (-18), won the title at the 9th Madeira Island Open, leaving behind Englishman John Bickerton (272) and a quartet of Stephen Dodd, Niclas Fasth, Massimo Florioli and Massimo Scarpa , All with 274 strokes.

After this victory, the Irishman became the oldest player to win in the history of the European Tour at 48 years and 34 days.

"It was a great honour to play on the Madeira Island Open, the course is fantastic, the Clubhouse very beautiful, the food even better and the caring phenomenal. I hope to return…"

Severiano Ballesteros, 2001

  • BPI
  • Canon logo
  • Cimentos Madeira
  • Construtora Tamega
  • ENM
  • FNAc
  • Grupo AFA jpg
  • JCRP
  • Logo-Expresso-BPI
  • Pestana hotels-pek
  • Porto-Bay
  • Porto Santo Line pek
  • Taylormade LOGO
  • jacobsen logo
  • nos empresas
  • pantano
  • the vine logo
  • titleist Golf Landing Page Banner


To see our current Promotions